Dream-Worlds Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Lifestyles and Pastimes > Publishing the DreamWorlds > Book Review Central
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

The Sands of Ethryn: CS Lakin

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Jano View Drop Down
Site Manager
Site Manager
alias author Jan Hawke

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Jano Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: The Sands of Ethryn: CS Lakin
    Posted: 27 Jan 2014 at 9:38pm

I'm new to The Gates of Heaven series but, as all the books stand alone, found this sixth story easy to engage with, even though a few echoes from its predecessors chimed in towards the end. As befits a fairytale fantasy, the nation of Ethryn stands on the brink of catastrophe with the desert encroaching ever faster as its people begin to leave for more bounteous lands. When King Kael-al-Falad is struck down into a seemingly evil enchanted slumber after handling a white gemstone taken from an altar atop a mysterious tower that has been discovered in the shifting dunes, it seems as though Ethryn's woes are only about to increase. With Ezbon, Kael's Vizier poised to assume power he has long coveted and, by his meddling in the dark arts,  possessed by a demon whose fate is inextricably linked to the great tower, things look bleak indeed.  Help is at hand from an unexpected quarter as Chief Archivist, Hashubah and his granddaughter, Ra'daf, who has a talent for translating archaic scripts, are charged with deciphering a scroll, also found at the base of the obsidian altar. As Hashubah and Ra'daf begin to hear the rhythmic beat of running feet from some unseen pursuer that seems to have been triggered by their reading of the ancient scroll, the King remains comatose, leaving the doctors and priests clueless as to how to restore him.